Author Topic: Forum Updates and Status  (Read 178289 times)

Atomic Mitten

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #60 on: January 06, 2004, 09:48:51 am »
Strange, since my post just now it seems to be working again ?

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #61 on: January 06, 2004, 10:40:59 am »
The server has been reset, which has solved the issue we had last night.

Offline number6

  • Be seeing you.
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • Team Leader
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.427
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #62 on: January 06, 2004, 12:47:56 pm »
Just to let everyone know. Occasionally, this is only the second time I have seen something weird like this, the server has problems and requires a reboot. Since neither Doc, Gryphon, TicTac or I have access to this server we have to wait for the people at Doc's web hosting site to actually cycle power.  Twice in 6 months is not bad statistics for downtime.

Atomic Mitten

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #63 on: January 12, 2004, 02:12:06 pm »
I just got a maximum time out fatal error message on line 328 ?

What's with the Forum ? it's taking ages to load pages and even longer to post a reply to a post ?

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #64 on: January 12, 2004, 02:32:52 pm »
I'm not experiencing any problems...

Offline number6

  • Be seeing you.
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • Team Leader
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.427
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #65 on: January 12, 2004, 04:38:53 pm »
It's a little slow for me also. It's probably an internet routing issue since Doc is not experiencing any problems.  I assure you it has nothing to do with the database scripts or the server.  This is one of those things we must learn to deal with from time to time.

RotteVis

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #66 on: January 12, 2004, 04:39:04 pm »
I?m experiencing problems here also. Like Atomic said, it indeed takes ages to load a page

Offline number6

  • Be seeing you.
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • Team Leader
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.427
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #67 on: January 12, 2004, 04:43:34 pm »
Well it is most likely a network problem somewhere between us and the server. We will just have to wait it out. I guess it would not hurt to give TicTac a call? What do you think Doc?

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #68 on: January 12, 2004, 04:55:54 pm »
Sent him an e-mail. Knowing him, he'll respond asap :)

Offline number6

  • Be seeing you.
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • Team Leader
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.427
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #69 on: January 12, 2004, 05:03:34 pm »
I guess TicTac fixed the problem (whatever it was) because I can access the site fine now!

Atomic Mitten

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #70 on: January 12, 2004, 05:29:31 pm »
He certainly did !  ;D  Wow like Turbo charged loading .What was causing the problem ?(being nosey as I am) ;)
« Last Edit: January 12, 2004, 05:30:48 pm by Atomic Mitten »

TicTac

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #71 on: January 12, 2004, 06:11:15 pm »
Thanks for all the credit guys  :-* :D! Actually i did not do anything yet. There are currently still slow actions. The homepage does load fast. That would exclude the webserver and network.

Quote
I assure you it has nothing to do with the database scripts or the server
Agreed, database scripts perform well.

So what's going on? It could be php; recently updated. I will check the changelog for php. Perhaps another mysql database user is either screwing up or running batches. Final thought is that the dbs is running against some limit. I will let you know asap.

Please post here whenever the forum does anything slow. Thanks for the feedback!
[/size]

TicTac

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #72 on: January 12, 2004, 09:01:28 pm »
I noticed the timeouts increase with the number of users on the forum. Can't find anything to suggest php 4.3.4 is timing out where 4.3.3 is not.

Number6, is it possible with php and the forum to log all opening and closing of mysql connections? There is a max of 750 open connections on the server which used to be 1000. If we have hundreds of connections opening and closing we should consider using a fixed pool of open connections.

Other options are updating to php 4.3.5RC1 or a 5.x beta and checking other dbs limits.

TicTac

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #73 on: January 13, 2004, 06:00:08 pm »
Our database server will be replaced in just a few days. This will solve it.

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #74 on: January 13, 2004, 06:01:15 pm »
Our database server will be replaced in just a few days. This will solve it.

Thanks for the update !

Offline number6

  • Be seeing you.
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • Team Leader
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.427
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #75 on: January 13, 2004, 06:37:34 pm »
TicTac,

    Do you mean that the physical machine is going to be replaced or are we getting a different mysql version?

Another thing that could be the problem is that they are using Windows 2000 and not Linux, like I use at home to test  forum changes on.   Of course I don't get anywhere near the load our web hosting provider does, having tested on Linux and Windows at home I think Linux is the better choice for http, mysql, and PHP services.  

That's just my opinion and I have no facts to back it up. Windows just seems less reliable for server functions to me.

TicTac

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #76 on: January 14, 2004, 07:01:42 pm »
Quote
Do you mean that the physical machine is going to be replaced or are we getting a different mysql version?
The machine will be replaced. It fails to handle a normal amount of connections. I don't know why.

Quote
... think Linux is the better choice for http, mysql, and PHP services.  
Yeah, linux rocks! But where would we be without windows? For a further disc on this open a new thread. I will join in. Btw, linux does not support .NET. ASP.NET is cool

[edit] Check out the "Windows / Linux" thread [/edit][/size]
« Last Edit: January 14, 2004, 11:01:05 pm by tictac »

Offline gryphon

  • Just me...
  • Administrator
  • Manager
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.733
  • nothing can seem fool to those that winn. ...
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #77 on: January 18, 2004, 08:30:39 pm »
Is it just me or is the forum / server really slow today ?
Expect anything, and life will become boring...

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #78 on: January 18, 2004, 11:58:13 pm »
Is it just me or is the forum / server really slow today ?

It isn't you, it has been for a while. I'm not sure if the server has been replaced yet... *looks at TicTac* :)

Offline gryphon

  • Just me...
  • Administrator
  • Manager
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.733
  • nothing can seem fool to those that winn. ...
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #79 on: January 19, 2004, 12:28:18 am »
I also got a few PHP time-out errors  .. .really weird .. . it was almost scary. . . . :-\
Expect anything, and life will become boring...

Atomic Mitten

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #80 on: January 29, 2004, 01:58:23 pm »
What has happened to the Pcpitstop link at the bottom of the main index page ?

Offline number6

  • Be seeing you.
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • Team Leader
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.427
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #81 on: January 29, 2004, 02:26:31 pm »
It has been moved to here along with the dll-files link.

Atomic Mitten

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #82 on: January 31, 2004, 10:23:39 am »
Moved to where ?

Offline number6

  • Be seeing you.
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • Team Leader
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.427
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #83 on: January 31, 2004, 10:51:15 am »
Did you click on the link I provided? The URL is :

http://www.gameheaven.nl


We basically moved all external links to the home page of Gameheaven.

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #84 on: February 04, 2004, 09:11:11 am »
Does anyone still experience any probs with the forum (slow loading, ect) ?

Also, if you wish to comment on the forum (changes, additions, feedback, ect.) let us know here.

Atomic Mitten

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #85 on: February 04, 2004, 11:01:49 am »
Seems fine to me, and it doesn't keep going offline like d2k does.lol ;D

Ei

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #86 on: February 04, 2004, 02:35:52 pm »
Little question, i can't pin my country is this because i am still in probation or is it bug? Here a screenshot i made from a link from the membersmap i got from gryphon.


Offline number6

  • Be seeing you.
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • Team Leader
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.427
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #87 on: February 04, 2004, 03:03:40 pm »
Probation is just a rank which is based on your number of posts. It has nothing to do with limiting forum features.

It should work. What country are you trying to pin?

Ei

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #88 on: February 04, 2004, 03:15:34 pm »
Probation is just a rank which is based on your number of posts. It has nothing to do with limiting forum features.

It should work. What country are you trying to pin?

Country to PIN: Netherlands

Missing links: members map, pin my country

have you looked at the picture? Can't pin a country and can't see a members map!

Phoenix

  • Guest
Re:Forum Updates and Status
« Reply #89 on: February 04, 2004, 04:38:44 pm »
click Profile (top of the screen)
then scroll down to Additional Information
then click Edit Member Map
fill in your country etc
and place your pin at left side on the map which occurs when you select the europe-map then select country for you flag.
finally click save