Author Topic: Router  (Read 7900 times)

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Router
« on: September 16, 2009, 12:55:46 pm »
Anyone got any ideas about what router to use to connect several pc's at home to the internet ?

1) A requirement is that I need at least 6 ports.
2) No wireless.

I thought about
this Linksys one, but not to sure when I read WAN speed
10mbs. I assume that would affect your 20/3 internet connection, doesn't it ?

Would love some more info so I can make a proper choice...

Offline gryphon

  • Just me...
  • Administrator
  • Manager
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.733
  • nothing can seem fool to those that winn. ...
Re: Router
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2009, 08:06:37 pm »
That assumption is correct.

I don’t like Linksys routers. They aren’t stable enough for me and tend to fail with VPN tunnels.
For a reasonable price you might wane have a look at Draytek for what you need although I know that 8port requirement can be tricky to find.
Expect anything, and life will become boring...

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Re: Router
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2009, 10:47:21 pm »
That assumption is correct.

I don?t like Linksys routers. They aren?t stable enough for me and tend to fail with VPN tunnels.
For a reasonable price you might wane have a look at Draytek for what you need although I know that 8port requirement can be tricky to find.

I have a Draytek now and am quite pleased with it. However, they only have 4 port routers.
I've done quite some searching and it seems I'm stuck with a 4 port one :(
I was hopeing to avoid switches, but seems I can't.

Offline gryphon

  • Just me...
  • Administrator
  • Manager
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.733
  • nothing can seem fool to those that winn. ...
Re: Router
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2009, 11:42:20 pm »
It also depends on how much you are willing to spend. Both Linksys and Cisco have routers with 8 – 16 ports that are quite good. You just have to spend more then 200 Euro’s for them.

For myself I use an Apple AirPort Extreme at one location with only my XboX connected via UTP. And that because they are only one meter apart. At another location I have a Cisco Pix, two 3Com switches to wire the whole house and two 3Com access points.

You could take a change with the Cisco. Then I’d put my money on the Draytek you already have, for both speed and performance.
Expect anything, and life will become boring...

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Re: Router
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2009, 10:44:34 am »
I'll focus on Draytek then, as I have experience with the brand.
Its easy manageble via the browser. Thanks though :)

Offline Bako

  • Asshathole
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 5.546
    • Bako Online
Re: Router
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2009, 06:42:05 pm »
I've noticed that most home / small business routers are managable via the browser ...
got a draytek vigor 2900 myself and am very pleased with it... apart for some strange thing that it wont allow more than 1 wireless client. even with theat client not connected I just cant let any other client connect.
this isnt really a problem, just a nuisance .. but when I can get my ass in gear to look at it I'll prolly do that ... if I feel like ...

anyways, I would say go for Draytek ... yea and like gryphon says .. Cisco has some nice reasonably priced ones aswell
"Liberal Tai-Chi Suan Fandango Transverstite Bullshit"


Offline Zapatas

  • BoB Officer
  • Team Leader
  • ***
  • Posts: 990
Re: Router
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2009, 09:19:49 pm »
I just bought the WRT610N, top of the pop Linksys router, updated to latest firmware.
and im loosing connection to interenet for 20 seconds once in a while, while running cabled :(

gonna pack it down right now, and return it tomorrow

then i better have a look at those draytek tomorrow

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Re: Router
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2009, 09:29:17 pm »
anyways, I would say go for Draytek ... yea and like gryphon says .. Cisco has some nice reasonably priced ones aswell

I've scrapped Draytek from the list. Seems that they aren't that good throughput wise.
Am now looking into a
D-Link...

Offline gryphon

  • Just me...
  • Administrator
  • Manager
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.733
  • nothing can seem fool to those that winn. ...
Re: Router
« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2009, 10:31:00 pm »
D-Link also has a lower priced version you might want to consider.
http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=371
« Last Edit: September 17, 2009, 10:33:04 pm by gryphon »
Expect anything, and life will become boring...

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Re: Router
« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2009, 11:45:31 pm »
Looks good.. throughput could be a bit higher, but not bad.

Here's a page that has routers listed on WAN => LAN throughput. The 4100 isn't listed, however the 4300 is..

Offline Zapatas

  • BoB Officer
  • Team Leader
  • ***
  • Posts: 990
Re: Router
« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2009, 07:54:05 am »
Nice page there Doc, I'm so happy that someone else I looking for a new router too, maybe I can buy one I'd get satisfied with at some point

If you were looking for one with wireless, like me :) ,that Netgear WNDR3700 doesn't look so bad, only one review on newegg.com though
I just have the idea that Netgear is something you buy in a discount supermarket :| could it be anygood?

as for Dlink, I tried the DIR655 but the wireless part wasnt stable, however the cabled router was fine and the webinterface had a ton of options (way more than the Linksys/Cisco I've seen)


Offline Zapatas

  • BoB Officer
  • Team Leader
  • ***
  • Posts: 990
Re: Router
« Reply #11 on: September 18, 2009, 11:53:53 am »
Looks like I will have to unpack the router again, to do some more testing
my ISP just called and said that they could see my connection being disconnected and would expect this behaviour from my modem not my router.

Offline Doc Nyar

  • When I call your name, be sure to duck...
  • Gameheaven Staff
  • CEO
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.870
  • No one knows a lot, but combined we do
Re: Router
« Reply #12 on: September 18, 2009, 05:08:22 pm »
I will not use the wireless option. It'll be a wired network..

Offline kraznuk

  • Band of Brothers
  • Steady Contract
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Fugu's a bitch
    • Pimple Faced Youth
Re: Router
« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2009, 08:59:59 am »
I use the Dlink DIR655 works wonders for me..
Steam kim@racesimcentral.com
Playing: SWTOR: Trollo