Author Topic: Advise on which version  (Read 6975 times)

Tura

Advise on which version
« on: April 28, 2004, 02:15:59 pm »
Hello guys,

I just won a nice notebook from siemens Amilo A series and am considering to install unix/linux on it since eventually I would like to study for some Administrator job and I am sure linux is required to be able to admin. I am a total noob on Linux/Unix though so I wonder if anyone can give me an advice with which version to start so I can get a hang of it, and to later switch to a more advanced version of it if that even exists.

Thanks in advance

Phoenix

Re:Advise on which version
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2004, 08:17:04 pm »
In my opinion Linux RedHat 9.0.
Its well supported.
But what do you want to do with it.. just working with linux??
Then RedHat is ok..
Eventually if you setup an Apache server its also well supported.

Maybe Gryphon or RotteVis has any comment???

Btw... You can also dual boot Linux and Windows... if you want..

RotteVis

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2004, 11:05:12 pm »
me and a comment on linux?

let linux burn in hell! (no flame intended, just my opinion when asked for it)

Take unix or take nothing, not a cheap rip off. And if you can?t work with unix go for windows just like me...

Offline gryphon

• Just me...
  • Administrator
  • Manager
  • nothing can seem fool to those that winn. ...
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2004, 12:28:17 am »
that's the first time I have seen anyone take avice for Linux from RotteVis. . ;)

but why stick with Redhat 9 if there is a 10 ? . .. Redhad has changed the way it offers Linux. You can get the home version 10.X also kows as the Vedora release. Or the enterprise Linux version still being released as Redhat Enterprise Linux. Currently 3.X

If you'd like to have the most pure version of Linux Gentoo might be the best option. Else SuSe or Redhat are the most commen. Personally I prefer Redhat and currently the Enterprise release.